Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Canada, U.S., among countries to require registration before entering Europe

For Canadians and Americans looking to travel to Europe, starting in 2021, you will need to take an additional step before entering a member country.

In 2021, Canada and the U.S. are among nations required to register in the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) prior to entering a Schengen-zone country.

This new protocol doesn’t grant a visa, but is a new form of registration, regardless of length of stay. It’s estimated the process will take less than 15 minutes online, and approval will be sent to a passenger’s email.

“Nationals of visa liberalization countries will continue to travel the EU without a visa but will simply be required to obtain a travel authorization via ETIAS prior to their travel… An ETIAS travel authorization does not reintroduce visa-like obligations,” according to their website. “There is no need to go to a consulate to make an application, no biometric data is collected, and significantly less information is gathered than during a visa application procedure.”

The cost to obtain registration will be 7 Euros, must be filed at least 72 hours prior to travel, and will “allow its holder to stay in 26 different countries in Europe for a period of up to 90 days in any 180-day period and it is valid for 3 years from the date of issuance or until the expiry date of the passport, whichever comes first.”

- Advertisement -

Source: European Commission

- Advertisement -
Winston Sih
Winston Sih
Winston is currently a freelance technology and travel broadcast journalist, consultant, and is the creator and founder of Master Travellr—Canada’s destination for travel news, guides, and budget recommendations.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisement -

Latest News